Above, event attendees cheer on Captain Bob Douglas, winner of the 38th Creative Living Award. Photo: Ray Ewing

The Creative Living Award recognizes members of the Vineyard community who embody the spirit of Ruth J. Bogan—who made the initial bequest of $60,000 to form the Marthas Vineyard Community Foundation.

Since 1983, we have celebrated our community in our annual Creative Living Award, dedicated to recognizing an Islander who has “enhanced and preserved the quality of life of the Vineyard forever.” This Fund was created to honor Ruth Bogan who, in the words of her friend Ruth Redding, was a “gallant woman who loved beauty, who loved the Vineyard and who believed ‘anyone can do anything.’”  In her letter of instruction to the Foundation, Ruth Redding requested that some funds be used to “encourage fine craftsmanship, creativity and ingenuity in many field.” 

From artists to farmers and doctors to volunteers, this award has highlighted the accomplishments of individuals and groups who have contributed significantly to the quality of life on the Island. A look at past recipients creates a living tapestry of the life and values of Martha’s Vineyard.
YearAward Recipient
2023Julianne Vanderhoop
2022Charlie Esposito
2020-2021Captain Bob Douglas - click here to watch the short film!
2019IGI, Island Grown Initiative.
2018Clarence A. 'Trip' Barnes III
2017Heidi, Peter and Frank Dunkl
2016Johnny Hoy
2015Ann Smith and Francine Kelly
2014Steve Ewing
2013Rez Williams
2012Paul Brissette
2011Daniel Waters
2010Ross Gannon and Nat Benjamin
2009Helen Lamb and Camp Jabberwocky
2008Clarissa Allen and Mitchell Posin
2007Susan Klein
2006Russell S. Hoxsie, M.D.
2005MJ Bruder Munafo
2004Gus BenDavid
2003Art Buchwald
2002David and Rosalee McCullough
2001Stan Murphy
2000Bill and Kathleen Joyce Costanza
1999Peggy Pinney Vance
1998John R. Abrams and Debbie Milne
1997Peter Boak
1996African-American Heritage Trail of Martha’s Vineyard
1995Fae Kontje
1994Allen D. Whiting
1993Cornelia Mendenhall and the Red Stocking Fund
1992Mary Beth Grady and Allison Burger
1991Hospice of Martha’s Vineyard in Honor of its Volunteers
1990Margaret Hall and Sara Piazza
1989Margaret Love
1988Edwin B. Gentle III and Roxanne Jardin
1987Jean L. Silva
1986Harold Heeremans and Alison Shaw
1985E. Gale Huntington
1984Sydna White
1983Marian Halperin and H. Stanton Lair