Skip to content
initiative hero

Creative Living Award

Creative Living Award Nomination

The Creative Living Award recognizes members of the Vineyard community who embody the spirit of Ruth J. Bogan—who in the words of her friend Ruth Redding, was a “gallant woman who loved beauty, who loved the Vineyard, and who believed ‘anyone can do anything.’” 

Ruth Bogan made the initial bequest of $60,000 to form the Martha’s Vineyard Community Foundation. The Creative Living Award was created by Ruth Redding to honor her friend’s vision and spirit. In her letter of instruction to the Foundation, Redding requested that a portion of the funds be used to “encourage fine craftsmanship, creativity, and ingenuity in many fields.” 

Since 1983, the MVCF has recognized an Islander who has “enhanced and preserved the quality of life of the Vineyard forever.” From artists, farmers, doctors to volunteers, past recipients highlight a tapestry of the life and values of Martha’s Vineyard.

Julie Vanderhoop
Photo: Sheny Leon

The Martha’s Vineyard Community Foundation is proud to recognize Juli’s tireless dedication to community well-being, and her outstanding ability to blend creativity, tradition, and innovation into a harmonious whole… Read More

  • 2022 Charlie Esposito

    Read More

  • Captain Bob Douglas

    2020-21 Captain Bob Douglas

    Read More

  • Duke Fernandes

    2019 Island Grown Initiative

    Read More

  • Trip Barnes

    2018 Trip Barnes

    Read More

  • Dunkl Siblings

    2017 Dunkl Siblings

    Read More

  • Johnny Hoy

    2016 Johnny Hoy

    Read More


  • 2023 Julianne Vanderhoop
  • 2022 Charlie Esposito
  • 2020-21 Captain Bob Douglas
  • 2019 IGI, Island Grown Initiative
  • 2018 Clarence A. ‘Trip’ Barnes III
  • 2017 Heidi, Peter and Frank Dunkl
  • 2016 Johnny Hoy
  • 2015 Ann Smith and Francine Kelly
  • 2014 Steve Ewing
  • 2013 Rez Williams
  • 2012 Paul Brissette
  • 2011 Daniel Waters
  • 2010 Ross Gannon and Nat Benjamin
  • 2009 Helen Lamb and Camp Jabberwocky
  • 2008 Clarissa Allen and Mitchell Posin
  • 2007 Susan Klein
  • 2006 Russell S. Hoxsie, M.D.
  • 2005 MJ Bruder Munafo
  • 2004 Gus BenDavid
  • 2003 Art Buchwald
  • 2002 David and Rosalee McCullough
  • 2001 Stan Murphy
  • 2000 Bill and Kathleen Joyce Costanza
  • 1999 Peggy Pinney Vance
  • 1998 John R. Abrams and Debbie Milne
  • 1997 Peter Boak
  • 1996 African-American Heritage Trail of Martha’s Vineyard
  • 1995 Fae Kontje
  • 1994 Allen D. Whiting
  • 1993 Cornelia Mendenhall and the Red Stock Fund
  • 1992 Mary Beth Grady and Allison Burger
  • 1991 Hospice of Martha’s Vineyard in Honor of its Volunteers
  • 1990 Margaret Hall and Sara Piazza
  • 1989 Margaret Love
  • 1988 Edwin B. Gentle III and Roxanne Jardin
  • 1987 Jean L. Silva
  • 1986 Harold Heeremans and Alison Shaw
  • 1985 E. Gale Huntington
  • 1984 Sydna White
  • 1983 Marian Halperin and H. Stanton Lair