Skip to content


Building Upon 40 Years of Collaboration

The MVCF celebrates the many people and organizations that over the past 40 years have enabled the Foundation to provide systemic support and address immediate needs of islanders.

Scroll through the timeline for a visual snapshot of important milestones.

  • September 23, 2021
  • July 11, 2019
  • September 19, 2018
  • December 21, 2017
  • December 21, 2017
  • September 14, 2017
  • November 17, 2016
  • October 7, 2016
  • July 20, 2015
  • June 19, 2015
  • December 18, 2014
  • December 13, 2014
  • August 12, 2013
  • January 10, 2009
  • October 19, 2008
  • December 12, 2007
  • June 30, 2004
  • August 30, 2002
  • December 29, 1989
  • March 15, 1986
  • March 29, 1984
  • October 21, 1983
  • April 12, 1983
  • January 17, 1983
  • 2021: Captain Bob Douglas receives Creative Living Award

    On a spectacular September evening, at the edge of Vineyard Haven harbor that Bob has called home for over 60 years, amongst the boats and craftsmanship that he ushered in and the community he has inspired, Captain Robert S. Douglas was awarded the 38th annual Creative Living Award.
  • 2019: Endowment Grants Celebrate Island Nonprofits

    In addition to its customary grant levels ranging from about $1,000 to $5,000, the endowment has add...
  • 2018: Trip Barnes Creative Living event 2018, a rollicking evening!

    On a warm September evening, at the Agricultural Society Hall where he has been a long time trustee, Trip Barnes was awarded the 2018 Creative Living Award. Trip's front porch and office were recreated at the Hall and friends stopped by to share their stories with and about Trip.
  • 2017: Friends of the M.F. Correllus State Forest

    The Endowment is proud to partner with the Friends of Manuel F. Correllus State Forest.
  • 2017: Vineyard Haven Band’s Winter Concert

    The Endowment welcomes a new fund created to support the Vineyard Haven Band as it nears its 150th a...
  • 2017: Dunkl siblings receive the 2017 Creative Living Award

    The Endowment is delighted to announce that siblings Frank, Heidi, and Peter Dunkl of Chilmark.
  • 2016: Inaugural Grants Award Ceremony

    The Permanent Endowment held its inaugural Grants Award ceremony on Tuesday, November 15.  Over 125...
  • 2016 Creative Living Award goes to Johnny Hoy

     The Permanent Endowment for Martha’s Vineyard has announced that Johnny Hoy of West Tisbury will...
  • 2015: The Joy Fund Scholarship

    In July 2015, Sarah Flanders and her sisters, Genevieve and Allison, established The Joy Fund, to honor their mother Joyanne Flanders, who taught special needs for many years at Martha’s Vineyard Regional High School.
  • 2015: George R. Yates and Margaret A. Yates Memorial Scholarship Fund.

    Mrs. Margaret A. Yates established this fund to primarily serve students from Martha’s Vineyard Regional High School pursue higher education in health-related fields such as nursing, pharmacy studies, medicine.
  • 2014: Beatrice Bennett Great Aspirations Memorial Scholarship Fund

    In 2014, Bella Bennett, Chair of the Endowment’s Alumni Scholarship Association, and one of The Endowment’s youngest philanthropists, established the Beatrice Bennett Great Aspirations Memorial Scholarship Fund in honor of her mother, Beatrice Bennett.
  • 2014: $10,000 to Save the Gay Head Lighthouse Committee

    In 2014 the Permanent Endowment for Martha's Vineyard gave a $10,000 grant to The Save the Gay Head Lighthouse Committee. The Gay Head Lighthouse Fund was established Dec. 3, 2013.
  • 2013: Keith A. Dodge Scholarship Fund

    Through recommendations by the English Department of the Martha’s Vineyard Regional High School (MVRHS), this award is given to seniors of MVRHS who excel or have a special gift in English or intend to pursue a major in English or related field of study.
  • 2009: Lillian Hellman Recreational Fund

    Established in 2009 through a bequest from the estate of Lillian Hellman, this fund supports recreational, leisure and educational activities for school age children on Martha’s Vineyard both after school and during the summer months. Preference is given to programs serving children from Aquinnah.
  • 2008: Wendy Weisman Jenkinson Culinary Arts Scholarship Fund

    Established in 2008 in memory of Island resident, Wendy Weisman Jenkinson, the Wendy Weisman Jenkinson Culinary Arts Fund provides scholarships to graduates of accredited schools on Martha’s Vineyard who have demonstrated a passion for cooking, a good academic record and good citizenship.
  • 2007: Walter & Irene Dumais Scholarship

    Through a bequest from Walter Dumais, this fund joined the Endowment at the end of 2007. Scholarships are awarded to seniors and graduates of the Martha’s Vineyard Regional High School who are continuing their education.
  • 2006: Harriet N. Goldberg Fund

    Harriet N. Goldberg, who was raised on Martha’s Vineyard, bequeathed a portion of her estate to address the physical and spiritual needs of the Island’s commercial seafarers...
  • 2002: Island Community Chorus Peter R. Boak Music Award

    This award was established in 2002 to honor Peter R. Boak, Director of the Island Community Chorus and transferred to the Endowment in 2008. The award is given each year to a graduating high school senior pursuing a career in the field of music.
  • 1989: Thomas H. Lee and Barbara F. Lee Scholarship Fund

    Established in 1989 in the memory of Fin Miller, awards scholarships primarily to high school seniors planning to concentrate on biological and environmental studies in college and sharing the donors’ concern for the protection, preservation and enhancement of the environment.
  • 1986: Mayhew-Nevin Memorial Fund

    Created in 1945 and transferred to the Permanent Endowment in 1986, this fund honors two distinguished and devoted Vineyard physicians, Orland S. Mayhew and Clement C. Nevin.
  • 1984: Dr. David Rappaport Memorial Scholarship Fund

    To honor the memory of Dr. David Rappaport, the Rappaport family, established the "Dr. David Rappaport Memorial Scholarship Fund".
  • 1983: Creative Living Award

    Creative Living Award established. Marion Halperin and H. Stanton Lair are the first recipients.
  • 1983: Ruth Redding establishes first fund with gift of $60K

    Ruth Redding establishes first fund with gift of 60K to honor Ruth J. Bogan. Ruth Redding Memorial Fund.
  • 1983: Jack Ware, Founder

    Jack Ware founder of the Permanent Endowment for Martha’s Vineyard.